RSS

Have To versus Get To

27 Jan

So I have been thinking….I know what you are thinking (Todd has been thinking uh oh)…. I understand because it is very rare lol

Here goes: Words make a difference in the meaning of what we say and how they are heard and received. Here are some examples…

I have to go to work vs. I Get to go to work

I have to go to school vs. I Get to go to school…..not a good example perhaps lol

I have to go out with my spouse vs. I Get to go out with my spouse

I have to go to church vs. I Get to go to church

I have to serve at church this Sunday vs. I Get to serve at church this Sunday

I have to tithe at church vs. I Get to tithe at church

The examples are endless but are you seeing where I am going with this? How we talk stems from a heart issue…

If we look at life with an heart of drudgery and tradition; then we become numb and all of a sudden we are just going through the motions and this journey called life becomes a have to life. Everything you say or tell people is filled with have to’s. Where is the joy?

Perhaps some of us are not saved and we don’t have that joy that we get from that personal relationship with Jesus, that relationship of knowing that He loves you and cares for you so much that He died for you…well He does and He did….that is good news

I pray that you simply believe in God, admit you are a sinner and you are; we all are and confess it with your mouth

9 because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved.
Romans 10:9-10 (ESV)

If you need help with this or have questions; please respond to this blog. I will be glad to talk with you. 

If we are saved  then everything we do is a joy because God has blessed us with everything we have…He gave us our jobs which pay us so we can have food, clothes and a place to live, a car to drive and etc.

We Get to work, we Get to go to school, we Get to go out with our spouse, we Get to go to church, we Get to serve, we Get to worship and yes we Get to tithe…See how that sounds when you look at with the idea of what God has done in our lives…He died for us, took all of our sins upon Him on the cross and the good news is He was resurrected on the third day…Glory….

He died for me so I GET to enjoy this journey called life, every incredible detail of every incredible day… I pray that we all Get to more than we have to.

Keep it real..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
